script Bank Innovation Award - Blog | NebraskaLand Bank
skip to main content

NLB Blog

Bank Innovation Award

Bank Innovation Award

NebraskaLand Bank has been named the 2022 recipient of the Nebraska Bankers Association ‘Bank Innovation Award’. The ‘Bank Innovation Award’ is presented to a bank who implemented an innovative way to improve financial literacy. The Nebraska Bankers Association selected NebraskaLand Bank for this award for its state of the art financial literacy scholarship program, NebraskaLand University.  In addition to receiving the ‘Bank Innovation Award’ NebraskaLand Bank was also named to the LiFE Honors List by the Nebraska Bankers Association, this award recognizes banks that are financial education leaders in their communities. “Congratulations to NebraskaLand Bank for this well-deserved honor,” said NBA President and CEO Richard Baier. “Their creativity and dedication to financial education through NebraskaLand University will give students a solid foundation for a lifetime of financial success.”

NebraskaLand University is a six course financial literacy scholarship program designed to educate students on budgeting, savings, credit, loans, career and wealth development, identity theft protection and more. The curriculum uses a combination of established financial literacy materials and unique lesson plans created and instructed by Senior and Executive Officers at NebraskaLand Bank.

All North Platte and surrounding area high school seniors are eligible.  NebraskaLand University is a free program for students. Each graduate of the program will receive a $250.00 academic scholarship provided by NebraskaLand Bank.  To be eligible for the NLU Scholarship, students must complete all six courses and participate in the capstone essay contest. The top three essays will earn $1,000, $750, and $500 scholarships. 

Applications for the 2022/2023 course will be accepted online at in August 2022. 

NebraskaLand Bank has awarded approximately $74,000.00 in academic scholarships to 247 graduating local area high school senior since the program began in 2014-2015.

Local People. Local Decisions. Local Ownership.